The Y Difference

The St. Cloud Area Family Y is much more than a community family wellness and fitness facility. It is a nonprofit organization dedicated to ensuring access to quality facilities and programs, regardless of a family or child’s ability to pay. A cornerstone of the Y’s success is the fact that it enriches all members of the St. Cloud community regardless of gender, age, race, religion and economic status.

At the Y, no one is turned away for inability to pay. In 2014 alone, we  provided nearly $400,000 in financial assistance.

The St. Cloud Area Family Y is strong and growing! With the support of this generous community, we continue to offer more programs to serve even greater numbers of individuals and families.

Provide a financially sound and community-supported Y that inspires St. Cloud area families to strive toward physical, educational, and spiritual improvements. This vision can only be realized through the support of the community, our members, and individual donors.

To put Christian principals into practice through programs that build a healthy spirit, mind and body for all.

We build strong kids, strong families and strong communities.


We promote these within our facility, our programs and the wider community.

History of Healthy Community Contributions
Established in 1969, the St. Cloud Area Family Y has a rich tradition of being a key contributor in the community for family health and fitness programs such as swimming lessons, youth sports, child care and social services. These facets make the Y an inclusive organization working in and with the community.

The St. Cloud Area Family Y serves more than 9,000 youth and families and provides financial assistance to those with proven financial need.We are working in partnership with over 60 community organizations and non-profits to expand program offerings through all possible means.

2015 Board of Directors

Robert Mahowald Jr – President
Jennifer Mrozek – Vice President
Duane Rasmusson – Past President
Michelle Pape – Secretary
Scott Lahr – Treasurer
Sara Cuperus – Member at Large
Aaron Crandall
Kurt Durrwachter
Becky Etsby
Wendy Hulsebus
Willis Kleinjan
Claudia Reverman
John Torgerson
Dawn Zimmerman